April 10, 2013

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) <u>Fiscal Year (FY) 2014</u> <u>Congressional Budget Justification</u>. Our budget is provided in accordance with the Government Performance and Results Act Modernization Act of 2010 and reflects our continuing progress in implementing the Act.

The NRC will be separately submitting a Proposed Bill for Authorization of Appropriations for FY 2014 in support of our budget estimates.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Allison M. Macfarlane

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Senator Jeff Sessions

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Sessions

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Barbara L. Boxer Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator David Vitter

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry Waxman

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Lamar Alexander

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Tom Coburn

The Honorable Michael McCaul Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bennie G. Thompson

The Honorable Patty Murray Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Sessions

The Honorable Paul Ryan Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Chris Van Hollen

The Honorable Barbara Mikulski Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Thad Cochran The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Robert Menendez Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Bob Corker

The Honorable Ed Royce Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Eliot Engel

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Lisa Murkowski

The Honorable Darrell Issa Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Elijah Cumming

The Honorable Jeffrey Zients Acting Director, Office of Management and Budget Washington, D.C. 20503 cc: Christine McDonald