March 1, 2013

The Honorable John Barrow United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Congressman Barrow:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am responding to your letter dated February 7, 2013, outlining concerns that you and your colleagues have regarding ongoing agency activities resulting from the Fukushima accident in Japan. Specifically, you addressed the NRC staff's recommendations pertaining to containment filtration for boiling water reactors with Mark I and Mark II containments.

My fellow Commissioners and I appreciate receiving your views. We are deliberating and giving this matter careful consideration. In accordance with our established processes and practices, the NRC staff provided the Commission with technical analyses, cost/benefit assessments, recommendations, and other supporting information in a paper to the Commission dated November 26, 2012. We asked staff to solicit input from a wide range of stakeholders and requested expert opinion from the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards in preparing to consider this issue. The information provided in the paper, along with other information gathered by the Commission, is being carefully considered during our deliberations.

If you have any questions, please contact me or Ms. Rebecca Schmidt, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Allison M. Macfarlane

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable John Barrow United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bill Pascrell, Jr. United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Stanford Bishop, Jr. United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John D. Dingell, Jr. United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ed Pastor United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sheila Jackson-Lee United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Steny H. Hoyer United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable William L. Owens United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable James E. Clyburn United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Michael F. Doyle United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph Crowley United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bennie Thompson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Bobby L. Rush United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Robert E. Andrews United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Chaka Fattah United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gene Greene United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Danny K. Davis United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Daniel Lipinski United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Terri A. Sewell United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Daniel B. Maffei United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Cedric L. Richmond United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Robert A. Brady United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bill Foster United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mike McIntyre United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jim Matheson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515