The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the Commission, I am responding to your letter of May 21, 2012, regarding the status of the staff's submittal on SECY-12-0062 to the Commission requesting authorization to issue Pilgrim's renewed license. The following answers are provided in response to your letter.

1. Have you voted on SECY-12-0062?

The Commission has voted on SECY-12-0062 as follows:

I voted on May 21, 2012;

Commissioner Svinicki voted on April 30, 2012;

Commissioner Apostolakis indicated he was not participating in this matter on April 24, 2012;

Commissioner Magwood voted on April 25, 2012; and

Commissioner Ostendorff voted on May 1, 2012.

2. Have you requested any extensions of voting time? If so, please indicate any extensions you have requested, the dates of those requests, and the duration of each extension.

On May 8, 2012, I requested an extension until May 18, 2012, to vote on SECY-12-0062 due to my travel schedule.

On May 25, 2012, the Secretary issued the final SRM on SECY-12-0062 authorizing the staff to issue Pilgrim's renewed license.

If you need any additional information, please contact me or Rebecca Schmidt, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Gregory B. Jaczko

cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

The Honorable Joe Barton
Chairman Emeritus, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative John D. Dingell

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on the Environment
and the Economy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Gene Green

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush