February 13, 2012

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Fiscal Year 2013 Congressional Budget Justification. Our budget is provided in accordance with the Government Performance and Results Act Modernization Act of 2010 and reflects our continuing progress in implementing the Act.

The NRC will be separately submitting a Proposed Bill for Authorization of Appropriations for Fiscal Year 2013 in support of our budget estimates.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Gregory B. Jaczko

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Senator John Barrasso

Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable John A. Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator John Barrasso

The Honorable Barbara Boxer
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and the Economy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Gene Green

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Lamar Alexander

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Susan M. Collins

The Honorable Peter T. King Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bennie G. Thompson

The Honorable Kent Conrad Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Sessions

The Honorable Paul Ryan Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Chris Van Hollen

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Thad Cochran The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Norm Dicks

The Honorable John F. Kerry Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Richard Lugar

The Honorable Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Howard Berman

The Honorable Jeff Bingaman Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Lisa Murkowski

The Honorable Darrell Issa
Chairman, Committee on Oversight and
Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Elijah Cummings

The Honorable Jeffrey Zients Acting Director, Office of Management and Budget Washington, D.C. 20503