The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed "Report to Congress on Abnormal Occurrences: Fiscal Year (FY) 2011." This submission is in accordance with Section 208 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 (Public Law 93-438) and the Federal Reports Elimination and Sunset Act of 1995 (Public Law 104-66), which require the NRC to identify and report abnormal occurrences (AOs) to Congress on an annual basis. An AO is an unscheduled incident or event that the Commission determines to be significant from the standpoint of public health or safety.

The enclosed AO report for FY 2011 describes 5 events at NRC-regulated facilities and 19 events at Agreement State-licensed facilities. The first event at an NRC-licensed facility involved radiation exposure to an embryo/fetus, and the second involved an incident of high safety significance at a commercial nuclear power plant. The other three NRC-licensed events were medical events as defined in NRC regulations. The first Agreement State-licensed event involved radiation exposure to an embryo/fetus, the second event involved an exposure to the extremities of a radiographer, and the third event involved a stolen radiography camera. The other 16 Agreement State-licensed events were medical events as defined in NRC regulations. Additionally, three events occurred at nuclear power plants that are not AOs but have received significant attention by Congress or the public. These events can be found in Appendix C to the AO report.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Gregory B. Jaczko

Enclosure: As stated

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Barbara Boxer
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator John Barrasso

The Honorable Fred Upton
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Henry A. Waxman

The Honorable Edward Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Lamar Alexander

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and the Economy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Gene Green