The Honorable Ann Kirkpatrick United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Congresswoman Kirkpatrick:

I am writing to congratulate you on your election to the United States House of Representatives. It will be an honor to work with you on the important issues facing this country in the coming years.

As you may know, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is an independent agency established by the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 to regulate civilian nuclear power and use of nuclear materials. Our mission is to protect the public health and safety and the environment, and to maintain the common defense and security. In carrying out that mission in the 21st century, we face several important challenges. The agency has received a total of 17 combined license applications for 26 new nuclear power plants across the country and expects to receive an additional 3 applications for another 5 nuclear power plants in 2009. As a result, NRC's challenges will include the efficient management of these applications for new commercial nuclear plants while continuing to ensure the safe operation of existing plants. We must also look ahead and prepare for the development of new reactor designs and fuel cycle concepts. Additionally, NRC must maintain its regulation of nuclear materials to ensure the safety in uses for medical and industrial purposes. Most importantly, we must continue to develop the human resources that the NRC will need to have to ensure continued public safety and environmental quality.

The NRC has established a framework of regulatory stability to both keep current nuclear plants safe and secure as well as meet these emerging challenges. However, we continually assess and strive to improve our efforts as needed.

I would welcome the opportunity to brief you or your staff about the NRC. If this would be helpful, please contact Rebecca L. Schmidt, Director, Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776 or Rebecca.Schmidt@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Dale E. Klein

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Ann Kirkpatrick United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Betsy Markey United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Chellie Pingree United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Marcia L. Fudge United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mary Jo Kilroy United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kathy Dahlkemper United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Suzanne M. Kosmas United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Debbie Halvorson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Lynn Jenkins
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Dina Titus United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Cynthia M. Lummis United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bobby N. Bright United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Parker Griffith
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom McClintock United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Duncan D. Hunter United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jared Polis
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mike Coffman United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Frank M. Kratovil, Jr. United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mark Schauer United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gary Peters United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Erik Paulsen United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gregg Harper United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Blaine Luetkemeyer United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Steve Driehaus United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Steve Austria United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John A. Boccieri United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kurt Schrader United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Glenn Thompson United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jim Himes United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Alan Grayson
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Bill Posey United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom Rooney
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Walt Minnick United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Aaron Schock United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Brett Guthrie United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph Cao United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John Fleming United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Bill Cassidy United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John Adler
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Leonard Lance
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Martin T. Heinrich United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Harry Teague United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ben Ray Lujan United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Michael E. McMahon United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Paul D. Tonko
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Dan Maffei United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Christopher Lee United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Eric Massa United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Pedro Pierluisi
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Phil Roe United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Jason Chaffetz United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Glenn C. Nye United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom Perriello United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Gerald E. Connolly United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Larry Kissell United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515