## December 5, 2013

MEMORANDUM FOR: Brooke Poole, Director

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication

FROM: Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS - AFFIRMATION SESSION, 4:00 P.M.,

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2013, COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM. ONE WHITE FLINT NORTH.

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO PUBLIC ATTENDANCE)

I. <u>SECY-13-0085 – Southern California Edison Co.</u> (San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station, Units 2 and 3), NRC Staff's Motion to Vacate the Licensing Board's Full Initial Decision, LBP-13-7 (June 14, 2013)

The Commission<sup>1</sup> approved a Memorandum and Order responding to a motion by the NRC Staff that the Licensing Board's order in this matter, LBP-13-7, be vacated. The Memorandum and Order vacates as most LBP-13-7 and terminates this proceeding.

(Subsequently, on December 5, 2013, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

II. SECY-13-0035/SECY-13-0035A – Southern California Edison Company's Motion to Withdraw License Amendment Request and to Vacate LBP-12-25 and Associated Petition for Review as Moot (Aug. 8, 2013); NRC Staff's Motion to Vacate Licensing Board Order LBP-12-25 (Aug. 9, 2013)

The Commission<sup>1</sup> approved a Memorandum and Order responding to Southern California Edison Company's motion to withdraw its license amendment request associated with relocating certain surveillance frequencies from San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station's technical specifications, as well as Edison's and the NRC Staff's motions to vacate LBP-12-25 and dismiss Citizens Oversight's petition for review as moot. The Memorandum and Order grants the motion to withdraw, dismisses as moot Citizens Oversight's appeal, and vacates the Board's decision in LBP-12-25.

(Subsequently, on December 5, 2013, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 201 of the Energy Reorganization Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 5841, provides that action of the Commission shall be determined by a Amajority vote of the members present. <sup>©</sup> Commissioners Svinicki, Apostolakis, Magwood and Ostendorff were present in the Conference Room. Chairman Macfarlane participated in the meeting via speakerphone.

cc: Chairman Macfarlane

Commissioner Svinicki Commissioner Apostolakis Commissioner Magwood Commissioner Ostendorff

EDO

OGC

CFO

OCA OIG

OPA

Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ASLBP (via E-Mail)

PDR