July 21, 2010

MEMORANDUM TO: R. W. Borchardt

**Executive Director for Operations** 

FROM: Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS – BRIEFING ON PROPOSED RULE

ON PART 35 MEDICAL EVENTS DEFINITIONS – PERMANENT IMPLANT BRACHYTHERAPY, 1:30 P.M., THURSDAY, JULY 8, 2010, COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE WHITE FLINT NORTH, ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO PUBLIC

ATTENDANCE)

The Commission was briefed by the NRC staff and the following list of stakeholders on the reproposed rule on Part 35 medical events definitions – permanent implant brachytherapy.

James Welsh, M.D., Member of the Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes (ACMUI), Subcommittee Chair on Medical Event Reporting for Prostate Brachytherapy, Radiation Oncologist

Michael Hagan, M.D., Ph.D., National Director of the Radiation Oncology Program, Department of Veterans Affairs

Douglas Pfeiffer, Chair of the Governmental and Regulatory Affairs Committee, American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)

Brian Davis, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology, Mayo Medical School, American Brachytherapy Society

David Houchens, Ph.D., Treasurer, UsToo, International Board of Directors

The staff should develop internal guidance that requires that for all major medical policy issues that are submitted to the Commission, including proposed and final rules, the staff should include ACMUI recommendations and dissenting views along with staff's assessment of the ACMUI recommendation and dissenting views. This direction supersedes the direction to staff contained in the May 15, 2010, Staff Requirements Memorandum (M100511)

On a separate track, the staff should work with OGC to provide the Commission a paper outlining possible improved mechanisms for providing the Commission with the ACMUI's feedback regarding medical issues, including the pros and cons of restructuring ACMUI such that it reports to the Commission. This paper should provide an implementation plan that would be used to effect such a restructuring should the Commission decide to move forward.

Any additional direction will be provided via the Staff Requirements Memorandum for SECY-10-0062.

cc: Chairman Jaczko

Commissioner Svinicki Commissioner Apostolakis Commissioner Magwood Commissioner Ostendorff

OGC CFO OCA OIG OPA

Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ASLBP (via E-Mail)

PDR