## November 6, 2008

 

 MEMORANDUM FOR:
 Brooke Poole, Director

 Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication

 FROM:
 Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary

 SUBJECT:
 STAFF REQUIREMENTS - AFFIRMATION SESSION, 1:25 P.M., THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 6, 2008, COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE WHITE FLINT NORTH, ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO PUBLIC ATTENDANCE)

## I. SECY-08-0148 – Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc., Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR Appeal of Joint Petitioners Nancy Burton And CRORIP

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order resolving the appeal of joint petitioners Nancy Burton and Connecticut Residents Opposed to Relicensing of Indian Point in the Indian Point license renewal proceeding. The joint petitioners appealed two companion decisions of the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board in this matter: first, the Board's denial of their waiver request, filed pursuant to 10 C.F.R. § 2.335; and second, the Board's denial of their petition to intervene and request for hearing. The Memorandum and Order denies the joint petitioners' appeal on the basis that the Board did not err in denying either the waiver request or the intervention petition.

(Subsequently, on November 6, 2008, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

## II. SECY-08-0156 – AmerGen Energy Company, LLC (License Renewal for Oyster Creek Nuclear Generating Station), Docket No. 50-219-LR, Citizens' Petition for Review of LBP-08-12

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order responding to a petition by Nuclear Information and Resource Service, Jersey Shore Nuclear Watch, Inc., Grandmothers, Mothers and More for Energy Safety, New Jersey Public Interest Research Group, New Jersey Sierra Club, and New Jersey Environmental Federation (collectively, Citizens) for Commission review of the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board's decision in LBP-08-12 which denied Citizens' motion to reopen the record and to add a new contention. The Memorandum and Order denies the petition for review.

(Subsequently, on November 6, 2008, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

cc: Chairman Klein Commissioner Jaczko Commissioner Lyons Commissioner Svinicki EDO OGC CFO OCA OIG OPA Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ASLBP (via E-Mail) PDR