April 30, 2008

MEMORANDUM FOR	: John F. Cordes, Director Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication	
FROM:	Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary	/RA/
SUBJECT:	STAFF REQUIREMENTS - AFFIRMATION SESSION, 12:55 P.M., WEDNESDAY, APRIL 30, 2008, COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE WHITE FLINT NORTH, ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO PUBLIC ATTENDANCE)	

I. SECY-08-0052 – Indian Point Nuclear Generating Units 2 and 3, License Renewal Docket Nos. 50-247-LR and 50-286-LR; WestCAN

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order responding to a "petition for Commission review" of the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board's decision to cancel an oral argument on the admissibility of the proposed contentions in the Indian Point license renewal proceeding by a group of organizations – Westchester Citizen's Awareness Network (WestCAN), Sierra Club – Atlantic Chapter, Rockland County Conservation Association, Public Health and Sustainable Energy, and New York State Assemblyman Richard Brodsky. The Memorandum and Order denies the petition.

(Subsequently, on April 30, 2008, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

II. SECY-08-0054 - Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Diablo Canyon ISFSI, San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace's Motion for Reconsideration of CLI-08-05 and San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace's Request for Admission of Late-Filed Contention 6 Regarding Diablo Canyon Environmental Assessment

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order responding to two filings by the San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace (SLOMFP). The first is motion for reconsideration of CLI-08-05 and the second is a request for admission of the late-filled Contention 6. The Memorandum and Order denies reconsideration of CLI-08-05 and declines to admit contention 6. In addition, the Memorandum and Order notes that the presiding officer has some scheduling flexibility in his resolution of Contention 1(b), and it schedules the Subpart K oral argument on Contention 2 for July 1, 2008, at 9:30 am.

Commissioner Jaczko disapproved this order.

(Subsequently, on April 30, 2008, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

cc: Chairman Klein Commissioner Jaczko Commissioner Lyons Commissioner Svinicki EDO OGC CFO OCAA OCA OIG OPA Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail) PDR