## September 8, 2003

MEMORANDUM FOR: John F. Cordes, Director

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication

FROM: Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS - AFFIRMATION SESSION, 1:25 P.M., MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2003,

COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE WHITE FLINT NORTH, ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE)

## I. SECY-03-0143 - Pacific Gas & Electric Co. (Diablo Canyon Power Plant, Units 1 and 2); Application for Stay of License Transfer Order

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order that grants Pacific Gas & Electric Company's motion to hold the case in abeyance and defers until later a formal ruling on the stay application.

The Commission was asked to act on a Memorandum and Order responding to requests by California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) and San Luis Obispo County for a stay of the effectiveness of the license transfer order related to the Diablo Canyon Power Plant. Pacific Gas & Electric Company, with CPUC's support, requested that the Commission hold the license transfer proceeding in abeyance while the County renewed its application for a stay.

(Subsequently, on September 8, 2003, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

## II. SECY-03-0154 - Duke Energy Corporation (McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 & 2, Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 & 2)

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order that directs the Licensing Board to provide requested information within three business days.

The Commission was asked to act on a Memorandum and Order directing the Licensing Board to inform the Commission when it intends to issue a pending decision on whether the intervenors, the Blue Ridge Environmental Defense League and the Nuclear Information and Resource Service, have submitted an admissible contention. The Board was also directed to explain to the Commission why there was a delay and what measures it will take to restore the proceeding to the original schedule.

(Subsequently, on September 8, 2003, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

cc: Chairman Diaz

Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield

EDO

OGC

CFO

OCAA

OCA

OIG

Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail)

PDR