MEMORANDUM
 L. Joseph Callan

 TO:
 Executive Director for Operations

 FROM:
 John C. Hoyle, Secretary /s/

 SUBJECT:
 STAFF REQUIREMENTS - SECY-98-155 - TRANSITION FROM SITE DECOMMISSIONING MANAGEMENT PLAN TO COMPREHENSIVE DECOMMISSIONING PROGRAM

The Commission has approved the staff's transition plan which retains the Site Decommissioning Management Plan (SDMP) for management of complex sites, replaces the SDMP Action Plan criteria with the new guidance developed to implement the license termination rule (LTR), establishes the Decommissioning Management Board (the Board) and uses the Agency Operating Plan and the Board to manage emerging decommissioning policy issues. In the January 1999 status report, the staff should provide a brief discussion on whether these management tools have proven effective and efficient in their early usage.

## (EDO)

## (SECY Suspense: 1/29/99)

The staff should continue to consult with the Commission in cases where a license issued to a current SDMP site is proposed to be terminated for unrestricted use under SDMP criteria and the site does not comply with the release standards identified in the license termination rule.

With regard to the outline for the Standard Review Plan (SRP) proposed in Attachment 2, the staff should ensure that item 8 includes an assessment and evaluation of the complex modeling associated with the groundwater pathway since it is clear from the LTR guidance documents recently approved by the Commission that it is extremely difficult to develop a generic groundwater model. In addition, the staff developing the SRP should continue to keep abreast of the evolution of the LTR guidance documents since during the 2-year interim use period those documents will more than likely undergo revision that may potentially impact the contents and scope of the SRP.

The staff should communicate with licensees on the status of all SDMP-related guidance by issuing an Information Notice that provides the table in Attachment 3 or a similar easy to read format.

CC:

Chairman Jackson Commissioner Diaz Commissioner McGaffigan OGC CIO CFO OCA OIG Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail) PDR DCS