September 14, 2006

MEMORANDUM TO: Commissioner McGaffigan

**Commissioner Lyons** 

FROM: Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/

SUBJECT: COMEXM-06-0007/COMPBL-06-0002 - EXPEDITING

COMMISSION ADJUDICATORY REVIEW

This memorandum is to inform you that the Commission has agreed to some measures to expedite Commission review of adjudicatory matters, as noted in the attached SRM.

This completes action on COMEXM-06-0007/COMPBL-06-0002.

Attachment: As stated

cc: Chairman Klein

Commissioner Merrifield Commissioner Jaczko

## September 14, 2006

## MEMORANDUM TO THE FILE

FROM: Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS - COMEXM-06-0007/COMPBL-06-0002

- EXPEDITING COMMISSION ADJUDICATORY REVIEW

The Commission has approved the following revision to the Internal Commission Procedures.

Revise the language on Page III-2 or III-3 of the Internal Commission Procedures to read:

"With respect to adjudicatory SECY papers, Commissioners are expected to vote no later than ten days after the issuance of the paper. When a majority of the Commission has voted, a request for extension of time to vote beyond the 10 day voting period or a request to delay the affirmation of the vote on a matter shall be granted only by a majority of the Commission."

"SECY shall schedule an affirmation session to be held every week. Within 48 hours of the issuance of adjudicatory SECY paper, SECY shall notice the affirmation of the paper so that the affirmation will be scheduled to be held at the earliest available affirmation session following the close of the 10 day voting period unless a majority of the Commission has advised that the affirmation should be set for a later date."

A conforming change should also be made to Page III-7 (Continuances and Extensions of Time). The could be done through a footnote or a new bullet noting that:

"With respect to adjudicatory SECY papers, if a Commissioner requests an extension of the voting time beyond the 10 day voting period or requests a delay in the affirmation of the vote on a matter, such requests shall be granted only by a majority of the Commission."

cc: Chairman Klein

Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield Commissioner Jaczko Commissioner Lyons\

EDO OGC OCAA CFO OCA

Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail)

PDR

OPA