## August 31, 2006

MEMORANDUM TO:	Commissioner Jaczko	
FROM:	Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary	/RA/
SUBJECT:	COMGBJ-06-0005 - USE OF UNSHIELDED TRAN	NSFER CASKS

This memorandum is to inform you that the Commission has agreed to follow up actions related to the Fort Calhoun exemption. The attached SRM provides staff direction on this issue.

This completes action on COMGBJ-06-0005

Attachment: As stated

cc: Chairman Klein Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield Commissioner Lyons EDO OGC August 31, 2006

MEMORANDUM TO:	Luis A. Reyes Executive Director for Operations	
FROM:	Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary	/RA/
SUBJECT:	STAFF REQUIREMENTS - COMGBJ-06-0005 - US UNSHIELDED TRANSFER CASKS IN SPENT FUE MOVEMENT	

The exemption issued for Fort Calhoun Station's transfer of spent fuel to dry storage should not be viewed as establishing a precedent that encourages future exemption requests for transferring spent fuel to dry cask storage when a crane does not have sufficient capacity to lift and transfer the approved transfer cask. The staff should issue an appropriate generic communication on this exemption to include the facts of this scenario, the insights gained, and the Commission's expectation that such issues, to the extent practicable and appropriate, be resolved well in advance of fuel movement through the normal licensing processes. The staff should make it clear that exemption requests will continue to be reviewed based on their technical merits and the standards in 10 CFR 72.7.

The staff should inform the Commission of other situations where a plant's existing crane does not have sufficient capacity to lift and transfer an approved transfer cask. The staff should also inform the Commission of receipt of exemption requests to modify transfer casks by removing shielding in order to allow for their handling using existing cranes with capacity ratings lower than would be sufficient for handling the unmodified casks. Appropriate methods for obtaining and communicating the information requested by this SRM are to be decided by the staff.

cc: Chairman Klein Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield Commissioner Jaczko Commissioner Lyons OGC CFO OCA OPA Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail) PDR