## February 7, 2006

MEMORANDUM TO: Michael T. Ryan, Chairman

Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste

FROM: Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS - COMSECY-05-0064 - FISCAL YEAR

2006 AND 2007 ACTION PLAN FOR THE ACNW

The Commission has approved the Fiscal Year 2006 and 2007 Action Plan for the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste, subject to the comments noted below.

The ACNW should be prepared to advise the Commission on the unique waste management, decommissioning, and environmental protection issues related to the licensing of in-situ leach (ISL) uranium recovery facilities which may arise from a Part 41 rulemaking addressing uranium recovery.

The ACNW should remain abreast of industry, technical and legal developments in the areas of spent fuel storage, disposal and reprocessing to ensure that members will be ready to provide advice in these areas, should the need arise.

The current second tier "Fuel Cycle Facilities" topic may need to move to the first tier, if new approaches to the fuel cycle are proposed. As such, an important design criterion for any new reprocessing effort will be that decommissioning costs be manageable. The ACNW's early thoughts on these issues could prove very helpful.

The committee should broaden its focus on LLW beyond merely risk-informing 10 CFR Part 61. Given that the Department of Energy is engaged in evaluating disposal options for Greater-Than-Class-C waste and the Barnwell LLW facility plans to only accept Class B and C waste from compact members by 2008, the committee should work with staff to determine the adequacy of our regulatory infrastructure to meet future challenges in this area and provide advice to the Commission on potential changes, as appropriate.

The Committee should revise its FY06/07 Action Plan consistent with this SRM and the Commission's SRM on its January 2006 meeting with the Committee. The revision should reprioritize the Committee's activities and address the Committee's resource needs to accomplish the directed work.

cc: Chairman Diaz

Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield Commissioner Jaczko Commissioner Lyons

OGC CFO OCA OPA

Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail)

PDR