

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 25, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed "Report to Congress on Abnormal Occurrences: Fiscal Year 2023." This submission is in accordance with section 208 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended (Public Law 93-438), and the Federal Reports Elimination and Sunset Act of 1995 (Public Law 104-66), which require the NRC to identify and report abnormal occurrences (AOs) to Congress annually. An AO is an unscheduled incident or event that the Commission determines to be significant from the standpoint of public health or safety.

The enclosed AO report for fiscal year (FY) 2023 describes nine events involving Agreement State licensees and two events involving NRC licensees. Seven AOs were medical events as defined in Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations* Part 35, "Medical Use of Byproduct Material." Three AOs involved the theft or diversion and recovery of Category 2 radioactive material sources, as defined in 10 CFR Part 37, "Physical Protection of Category 1 and Category 2 Quantities of Radioactive Material." The other AO involved a human exposure event. No events at a commercial nuclear power plant met the criteria for AOs. The NRC did not identify any events during FY 2023 that met the guidelines for inclusion in Appendix B, "Other Events of Interest." The NRC included one update to a previous AO in Appendix C, "Updates on Previously Reported Abnormal Occurrences," for AO AS22-03, "Medical Event at Comprehensive Cancer Centers of Nevada, Sunset, Las Vegas, Nevada."

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me, or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776.

Sincerely,

- T. KH

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: FY 2023 AO Report to Congress

## Identical letter sent to the following:

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Pete Ricketts

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr. The Honorable Jeff Duncan Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Diana DeGette

The Honorable Buddy Carter Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment, Manufacturing and Critical Materials Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Chuck Fleischmann Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Patty Murray Chair, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John Kennedy