

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 29, 2024

The Honorable Mike Levin United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative Levin:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am responding to your March 27, 2024, letter regarding establishment of a new office at the NRC dedicated to public outreach, engagement, and participation.

Consistent with the NRC's Principles of Good Regulation, the NRC considers openness, transparency, and public engagement as fundamental to implementation of its important safety and security mission. As you acknowledge in your letter, enhancing public participation benefits all stakeholders, and is particularly important in the context of engaging environmental justice communities. The Commission directed the staff to perform a systematic review of how the agency's programs, policies, and activities address environmental justice. The staff's resulting policy paper identified areas where consideration of environmental justice specifically and public engagement broadly could be enhanced. This paper is currently before the Commission for its consideration. We appreciate the information you have provided in your letter and will take it into consideration in our deliberations on this matter.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Mike Levin
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Edward J. Markey United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jared Huffman United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Melanie Stansbury United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Salud Carbajal United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jan Schakowsky United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Katie Porter United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Paul D. Tonko United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ann McLane Kuster United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Laphonza Butler United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Becca Balint United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jerrold Nadler United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Doris Matsui United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jesús G. "Chuy" García United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mark Takano United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jamie Raskin United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Peter Welch United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable James P. McGovern United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Bernard Sanders United States Senate Washington, DC 20510