

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

March 11, 2024

The Honorable Shalanda Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street NW Washington, DC 20503

Dear Director Young:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) fiscal year (FY) 2025 Congressional Budget Justification. This Congressional Budget Justification reflects the NRC's continued commitment to protecting public health and safety and ensuring the long-term safety and security of nuclear power facilities and nuclear materials. The NRC's FY 2025 budget request provides the resources necessary to accomplish mission-critical activities related to safety and security in the Nuclear Reactor Safety Program and the Nuclear Materials and Waste Safety Program.

The NRC's FY 2025 budget request, including the Office of the Inspector General, is \$994.9 million, including 2,897.9 full-time equivalents. This request represents an increase of \$51.8 million or approximately 5.5 percent when compared to the FY 2023 Enacted budget, primarily to support increased salaries and benefits, consistent with the Office of Management and Budget guidance. The budget request proposes the use of \$20.0 million in carryover to offset the Nuclear Reactor Safety budget. The NRC plans to recover \$823.9 million from fees, resulting in a net budget authority of \$151.0 million. The net budget authority increases by \$14.0 million from \$137.0 million in FY 2023, primarily to support the University Nuclear Leadership Program, the Minority Serving Institutions Grant Program, and international technical cooperation.

The NRC stands ready to support your review of this budget request through briefings and responses to questions. Please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776 if we may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

_T. 10m

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Erin Alejandro

Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Pete Ricketts

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Jeff Duncan Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Diana DeGette

The Honorable Buddy Carter Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment, Manufacturing and Critical Materials Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Kay Granger Chairwoman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Rosa DeLauro The Honorable Patty Murray Chair, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Susan Collins

The Honorable Chuck Fleischmann Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Patty Murray Chair, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Michael McCaul Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Gregory Meeks

The Honorable Ben Cardin Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James E. Risch

The Honorable James Comer Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Accountability United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Jamie Raskin

The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John A. Barrasso The Honorable Mark E. Green Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bennie Thompson

The Honorable Gary C. Peters Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Rand Paul

The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Chuck Grassley

The Honorable Jodey C. Arrington Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Brendan F. Boyle

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Patty Murray President Pro Tempore United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Shalanda Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street NW Washington, DC 20503 cc: Erin Alejandro