

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

February 12, 2024

Mr. Frank Rusco, Director Natural Resources and Environment U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548

Dear Mr. Rusco:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am writing to provide the NRC's response to the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) report GAO-23-105997, "Nuclear Power: NRC Needs to Take Additional Actions to Prepare to License Advanced Reactors," dated August 14, 2023.

In the report, the GAO found that the NRC has taken several actions to modify its licensing process, which demonstrate the agency's readiness to review advanced reactor applications. The report also included four recommendations for additional actions. Except for Recommendation No. 1 related to incomplete applications submitted to the agency, the NRC generally agrees with these recommendations and has taken actions to implement them, as discussed in the enclosed response.

The NRC appreciates the opportunity to describe agency actions taken in response to the GAO's recommendations. If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me or have your staff contact Mr. John R. Jolicoeur, Executive Technical Assistant, by phone at 301-415-1642 or by email to John.Jolicoeur@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

<u>Identical letter sent to the following recipients, with the exception of the replacement of the point of contact with the Chair and the Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs:</u>

Mr. Frank Rusco, Director Natural Resources and Environment U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548

The Honorable Shalanda Young
Director, Office of Management and Budget
725 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20503
cc: Christine A. McDonald
Erin Alejandre

The Honorable Gary C. Peters
Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Rand Paul

The Honorable James Comer
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Accountability
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Jamie Raskin

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward J. Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate,
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Pete Ricketts

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Jeff Duncan Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Diana DeGette

The Honorable Buddy Carter
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment,
Manufacturing and Critical Materials
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko