

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

August 28, 2023

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am responding to your July 14, 2023, letter regarding the NRC staff's draft proposed rule to establish a risk-informed, technology-inclusive regulatory framework for advanced reactors, also known as "Part 53," which is currently under consideration by the Commission.

The Commission continues to place a high priority on the timely establishment of the Part 53 regulatory framework and is actively considering the many important policy issues raised in your letter. The Commission has been actively engaged on this matter since it began development, and since the draft proposed rule was provided to the Commission, we have received extensive feedback from the NRC staff, industry stakeholders, and members of the public. We have heard many of the same concerns expressed in your letter and are actively considering how best to address them.

Once the Commission completes deliberations, we will provide direction to the NRC staff on how to proceed. Based on direction from the Commission, the staff will revise the draft proposed rule and publish it in the *Federal Register* for public comment. The NRC will consider all comments received on the proposed rule and will provide written responses to the comments. The public comment process may also result in additional changes to the draft final rule text prepared for Commission consideration. The NRC is currently working to complete this rulemaking significantly ahead of the Nuclear Energy Innovation and Modernization Act required deadline of December 31, 2027.

Thank you for your letter and your continued interest in the NRC's Part 53 rulemaking efforts. If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me, or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

\_T. Do

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Ranking Member, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate

The Honorable Tammy Duckworth United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Chris Coons United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Pete Ricketts United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Deb Fischer United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Cynthia M. Lummis United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Martin Heinrich United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Ted Budd United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable James E. Risch United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Kevin Cramer United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Ranking Member, Committee on Energy and
Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Michael C. Burgess, M.D. United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Diana DeGette United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Robert E. Latta United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Doris Matsui United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Brett Guthrie United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kathy Castor United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable H. Morgan Griffith United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable John P. Sarbanes United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Bill Johnson United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Roger F. Wicker United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Lindsey O. Graham United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mark Kelly United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mike Crapo United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Kyrsten Sinema United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Joe Manchin III United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Earl L. "Buddy" Carter United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jeff Duncan United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Gary Palmer United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Paul D. Tonko United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Gus M. Bilirakis United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Tony Cárdenas United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Larry Bucshon, M.D. United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Scott H. Peters United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard Hudson United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Marc A. Veasey United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Tim Walberg United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ann McLane Kuster United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Lisa Blunt Rochester United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Darren Soto United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kim Schrier
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Neal P. Dunn, M.D. United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable John Curtis United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Debbie Lesko United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Dan Crenshaw United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kelly Armstrong United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rick W. Allen United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Russ Fulcher United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Diana Harshbarger United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kat Cammack United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Lori Trahan United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Lizzie Fletcher United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Greg Pence United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable John Joyce, M.D. United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Randy K. Weber United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Troy Balderson United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable August Pfluger
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jay Obernolte
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515