

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

June 27, 2023

The Honorable Gary C. Peters Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am submitting this letter as the NRC's annual report related to the protection of whistleblowers required by the "National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2018" (Public Law 115-91) (the Act). The Act requires agencies to incorporate the protection of whistleblowers into job requirements and performance standards of supervisory employees. Thereafter, each agency must report annually to Congress the number of supervisors who failed to meet these critical standards, the reasons for the determination that they failed, and what performance-based or corrective actions were taken by the agency in response. At this time, I can report that the NRC had no confirmed violations of the Act during our last performance cycle of fiscal year 2022.

Subsequent to the passage of the Act, Federal agencies received further direction from the Office of Special Counsel (OSC) and the Office of Personnel Management indicating that joint guidance would be issued for Federal agencies on the inclusion of whistleblower protection criteria in supervisory performance appraisals. In 2021, the NRC incorporated language from OSC into our supervisory performance appraisals for fiscal year 2022.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

cc: Senator Rand Paul

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Gary C. Peters Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Rand Paul

The Honorable James Comer Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Accountability United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Jamie Raskin

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Pete Ricketts

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Jeff Duncan Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Diana DeGette

The Honorable Bill Johnson Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment, Manufacturing and Critical Minerals United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko