

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 18, 2023

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am providing the agency's "Recommended Best Practices Report for Environmental Reviews and Authorizations" (Best Practices Report). Title 41 of the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act (FAST-41), as amended by the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, requires "each participating agency and lead agency" to submit a report annually that assesses the performance of the agency in implementing FAST-41 best practices to Congress and the Director of the Office of Management and Budget by April 15.

The enclosed Best Practices Report was developed in accordance with the fiscal year (FY) 2022 Federal Permitting Improvement Steering Council guidance. This guidance recommended three best practice categories for FY 2022. Consequently, the NRC's Best Practices Report focuses on these three best practice categories and the agency's efforts to implement them.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me, or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Shalanda D. Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17<sup>th</sup> Street, NW Washington, DC 20503

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air,
Climate, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Pete Ricketts

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chair, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc. Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Jeff Duncan
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate, and Grid Security
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Diana DeGette

The Honorable Bill Johnson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment,
Manufacturing, and Critical Materials
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko