OFFICIAL USE ONLY—SECURITY-RELATED INFORMATION



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

March 2, 2023

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548

Dear Comptroller General Dodaro:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am pleased to provide the enclosed summary of actions taken by the NRC in response to recommendations contained in various U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports that address NRC activities. The summary describes the progress made in addressing recommendations remaining open as of, or not included in, our last summary report of February 24, 2022. GAO recommendations that were addressed in previous annual reports and were indicated as closed by the NRC are not addressed in this report.

I am also providing a non-public summary of actions taken by the NRC in response to non-public GAO reports. We respectfully request that you treat the enclosed non-public summary in kind, honoring the markings.

If you have any questions, please contact me or have your staff contact John Jolicoeur, Office of the Executive Director for Operations, at (301) 415-1642.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosures:

1. Summary of NRC Actions

2. Summary of NRC Actions for Non-public Reports

cc: Frank Rusco

Enclosure 2 transmitted herewith contains Official Use Only-Security Related Information. When separated from Enclosure 2, this transmittal letter is decontrolled.

Identical letter sent to the following recipients, with the exception of the replacement of the point of contact with the Chair and the Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs:

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548 cc: Frank Rusco

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air,
Climate, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Pete Ricketts

The Honorable Jeff Duncan
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate
and Grid Security
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Diana DeGette

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Bill Johnson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment,
Manufacturing and Critical Materials
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Chuck Fleischmann
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Gary C. Peters
Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Rand Paul

The Honorable Mark E. Green Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bennie Thompson

The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Chuck Grassley

The Honorable Jodey C. Arrington Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Brendan F. Boyle The Honorable Patty Murray
Chair, Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Susan Collins

The Honorable Kay Granger Chairwoman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Rosa DeLauro

The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John A. Barrasso

The Honorable James Comer Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Accountability United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Jamie Raskin

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Shalanda Young, Director Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503 cc: Erin Cheese

The Honorable Robert Menendez Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James E. Risch

The Honorable Michael McCaul Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Gregory Meeks