CHAIRMAN

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

August 23, 2022

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr. Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the Commission, I am providing the July 2022, monthly status of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) activities, and use of unobligated carryover funds appropriated from the Nuclear Waste Fund (NWF). The enclosure provides the NWF expenditures in July 2022, consistent with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit's decision in *In re Aiken County* regarding the licensing process for the U.S. Department of Energy's Yucca Mountain license application. During this reporting period, the NRC provided limited program planning and support activities.

Please feel free to contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776, if you have questions or need more information.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Rosa L. DeLauro Chair, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Kay Granger

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
Chairman Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Edward Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air,
Climate, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and
Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and Climate Change
Committee on Energy and Commerce United
States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative David B. McKinley