

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

CHAIRMAN

August 24, 2022

Dr. Rian Bahran, PhD., Assistant Director for Nuclear Security National Security Division White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Eisenhower Executive Office Building 1650 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington, DC 20504

Dear Dr. Bahran:

The enclosed 2022 Radiation Source Protection and Security Task Force

Report was issued to the President and Congress on August 5, 2022, in accordance

with Section 651(d) of the Energy Policy Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-58). I would like

to express my appreciation for your support in the completion of the enclosed 2022

report. I look forward to continued cooperation on the Task Force's efforts regarding

the protection and security of radioactive sources in the United States.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letters sent to:

Dr. Rian Bahran, PhD., Assistant Director for Nuclear Security National Security Division White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Eisenhower Executive Office Building 1650 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington, DC 20504

The Honorable Shawn G. Skelly Assistant Secretary of Defense for Readiness U.S. Department of Defense 4000 Defense Pentagon, Room 5C646 Washington, DC 20301-3400 cc: Laura Macaluso, Director for Force Safety and Occupational Health Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Readiness U.S. Department of Defense

Timothy Mikulski, Army Radiation Safety Officer Office of the Director of Army Safety U.S. Department of Defense

The Honorable Merrick B. Garland Attorney General of the United States U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530-0001 cc: Kevin McLeary, Management and Program Analyst WMD Policy| Radiological-Nuclear Federal Bureau of Investigation

Julie Dickerson, Counsel to the Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice

The Honorable Avril Haines Director of National Intelligence Office of Director of National Intelligence Washington DC 20511 cc: Kendal Tracy Counterterrorism Group Office of Terrorism Analysis National Counterterrorism Center Jonathan Crince Counterterrorism Group Office of Terrorism Analysis National Counterterrorism Center

The Honorable Xavier Becerra, II Secretary of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue SW Room 603-H Washington, DC 20201 cc: Adela Salame-Alfie, PH.D., FHPS Senior Service Fellow National Center for Environmental Health Center for Disease Control and Prevention U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg
Secretary of Transportation
U.S. Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington DC 20590
cc: Richard Boyle, Chief, Radioactive Materials Transport Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation

Michael Conroy, Physical Scientist, Radioactive Materials Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration U.S. Department of Transportation

The Honorable Christopher A. Wray Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation U.S. Department of Justice J. Edgar Hoover Building 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20535-0001 cc: Jill Sanborn, Executive Assistant Director Federal Bureau of Investigation

Julianna Logan Intelligence Analyst Deputy Director's Office Federal Bureau of Investigation

Kevin McLeary, Management and Program Analyst WMD Policy| Radiological-Nuclear Federal Bureau of Investigation

Kyle Lykins Intelligence Analyst Deputy Director's Office Federal Bureau of Investigation Alicia Azzi Intelligence Analyst Deputy Director's Office Federal Bureau of Investigation

The Honorable Antony J. Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, DC 20520 cc: Sarah L. Ayers, Foreign Affairs Officer and Security Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation U.S. Department of the State

The Honorable William J. Burns Director, Central Intelligence Agency Washington, DC 20505 cc: Kendal Tracy Counterterrorism Group Office of Terrorism Analysis National Counterterrorism Center

Jonathan Crince Counterterrorism Group Office of Terrorism Analysis National Counterterrorism Center

Earl Fordham, Deputy Director Office of Radiation Protection Washington State Department of Health 309 Bradley Blvd., Ste. 201 Richland, WA 99353 cc: David Crowley, Interim Section Chief Radioactive Materials Branch Manager Division of Health Services Regulations Radiation Protection Section

NC Department of Health and Human Services

The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary of Homeland Security U.S. Department of Homeland Security Washington DC 20528 cc: Aliana Clerk, Assistant Director

Stakeholder Engagement Division Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency U.S. Department of Homeland Security C. Ulander Gervais, Section Chief, Nuclear Section Stakeholder Engagement Division Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Ryan Bechtel, Health Physicist, Nuclear Section Stakeholder Engagement Division Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency U.S. Department of Homeland Security

David Gudinas, Director Technological Hazards Division National Preparedness Directorate Federal Emergency Management Agency U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Thomas Warnock, Chief Radiological Emergency Preparedness Branch Technological Hazards Division National Preparedness Directorate U.S. Department of Homeland Security

The Honorable Michael S. Regan, Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency William Jefferson Clinton Building 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington DC 20460 cc: Daniel Schultheisz, Associate Director Center for Waste Management and Regulations Radiation Protection Division Office of Radiation and Indoor Air U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Christopher Hallam, Health Physicist Radiation Protection Division Office of Radiation and Indoor Air U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue SW Washington DC 20585 cc: Samuel Callahan, Director Office of Security Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security U.S. Department of Energy Michael H. Sparks, Director Office of Security Assistance Office of Security U.S. Department of Energy

Melanie May, Physical Scientist Office of Security Assistance Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security U.S. Department of Energy

Amy Biggs, Physical Scientist Office of Security Assistance Office of Security U. S. Department of Energy

Kristin Hirsch, Director Office of Radiological Security National Nuclear Security Administration U.S. Department of Energy

Cristen Ford, Director of Domestic Programs Office of Radiological Security National Nuclear Security Administration U. S. Department of Energy