

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

August 5, 2022

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Section 651(d) of the Energy Policy Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-58), I am providing the enclosed report documenting the activities, actions, and accomplishments of the Radiation Source Protection and Security Task Force (Task Force) over the past 4 years. The Task Force concluded that there are no significant gaps in the area of radioactive source protection and security that are not already being addressed through continued attention by appropriate Task Force agencies.

The Energy Policy Act of 2005 established the Task Force and charged it with: (1) evaluating and providing recommendations relating to the security of radiation sources in the United States from potential terrorist threats, including acts of sabotage, theft, or use of a radiation source in a radiological dispersal device and (2) submitting, within 1 year of enactment, and not less than once every 4 years thereafter, reports containing its recommendations, including recommendations for appropriate regulatory and legislative changes, to the President and Congress. The Task Force is chaired by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and includes members from 14 Federal agencies. The Organization of Agreement States, which represents all State governments that regulate the use of radiation sources, also participates as a non voting member.

The NRC submitted the last Task Force report to the President and Congress on October 17, 2018. Since that time, the Task Force has routinely met to discuss matters pertaining to the security of radioactive sources. The results of those discussions, including the progress on various initiatives, associated accomplishments, and remaining actions, are documented in the enclosed report. The Task Force did not issue any new recommendations, and it closed one recommendation from previous Task Force reports. Actions for six of the remaining recommendations are ongoing. The Task Force will continue to advance its efforts to complete actions associated with the remaining six recommendations and will take the necessary steps to mitigate any emerging gaps in source protection and security that may arise in the years to come.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. I may be reached by phone at (301) 415-1750.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: 2022 Radiation Source Protection and Security Task Force Report

Identical letter sent to:

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Bennie Thompson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John Katko

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Edward Markey Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James Inhofe

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr. Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers The Honorable Gary C. Peters Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Rob Portman

The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John A. Barrasso

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Paul Tonko Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and Climate Change Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative David B. McKinley

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito