

Tom Simril Vice President Catawba Nuclear Station

Duke Energy CN01VP I 4800 Concord Road York, SC 29745

o: 803.701.3340 f: 803.701.3221 tom.simril@duke-energy.com

10 CFR 72.212

RA-22-0205

July 11, 2022

Director, Division of Spent Fuel Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Document Control Desk Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Subject: Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC (Duke Energy) Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2 Facility Operating License Numbers NPF-35 and NPF-52 Docket Numbers 50-413 and 50-414 Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation (ISFSI) ISFSI Docket Number 72-45 Registration of Spent Fuel Storage Casks

Catawba Nuclear Station is currently loading spent nuclear fuel into NAC-MAGNASTOR dry cask storage systems (Model Number MAGNASTOR) as controlled by Certificate of Compliance Number 1031, Amendment Number 7. In accordance with 10 CFR 72.212(b)(2), Duke Energy hereby registers the use of Cask Identification Numbers CN-VCC-128, CN-VCC-123, and CN-VCC-124.

Loading of cask CN-VCC-128 was completed and the cask was placed on the ISFSI pad on June 12, 2022. Loading of cask CN-VCC-123 was completed and the cask was placed on the ISFSI pad on June 17, 2022. Loading of cask CN-VCC-124 was completed and the cask was placed on the ISFSI pad on June 24, 2022.

There are no NRC commitments contained in this letter. Please direct questions on this matter to Sherry Andrews, Catawba Regulatory Affairs, at (803) 701-3424.

Sincerely,

Tom Sim D

Tom Simril Vice President, Catawba Nuclear Station

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission RA-22-0205 Page | 2 July 11, 2022

XC:

L. Dudes, Region II Administrator U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Marquis One Tower 245 Peachtree Center Avenue NE, Suite 1200 Atlanta, GA 30303-1257

J. D. Austin, Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Catawba Nuclear Station

Z. Stone, Project Manager U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11555 Rockville Pike Mailstop O-8G9A Rockville, MD 20852

L. Garner, Manager S.C. DEHEC Radioactive & Infectious Waste Management garnerld@dhec.sc.gov

A. Nair-Gimmi, Director S.C. DEHEC Division of Emergency Response naira@dhec.sc.gov

Daemon Hobbs, Manager S.C. DEHEC Nuclear Response hobbsde@dhec.sc.gov