

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 5, 2022

The Honorable Shalanda D. Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503

Dear Ms. Young:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) fiscal year (FY) 2023 Congressional Budget Justification. This Congressional Budget Justification reflects the NRC's continued commitment to protecting public health and safety and establishing the requirements necessary to ensure the long-term safety and security of nuclear power facilities and nuclear materials. The NRC's FY 2023 budget request provides the resources necessary to accomplish mission-critical activities related to safety and security in the Nuclear Reactor Safety Program and the Nuclear Materials and Waste Safety Program.

The NRC's FY 2023 budget request, including the Office of the Inspector General, is \$929.2 million, including 2,879.6 full-time equivalents (FTEs). When compared to the NRC's FY 2022 President's Budget, this request represents an increase of \$41.5 million or 4.7 percent, including 0.6 additional FTE. This increase was primarily to support increased salaries and benefits consistent with Office of Management and Budget guidance and to support enhanced cyber security to meet new requirements. The net budget authority increases by \$6.0 million, from \$131.0 million to \$137.0 million. The FY 2023 resources requested for Corporate Support constitute approximately 31 percent of the agency's total budget authority and reflect the agency's efforts to comply with the corporate support cap as outlined in Section 102(a)(3)(A) of the Nuclear Energy Innovation and Modernization Act, to the maximum extent practicable.

The NRC stands ready to support your review of this budget request through briefings and responses to questions. Please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776, if we may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Christine A. McDonald

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Shalanda D. Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503 cc: Christine A. McDonald

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air,
Climate, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and Climate Change
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative David B. McKinley

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Chair, Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Kay Granger

The Honorable Patrick Leahy
Chairman, Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Richard Shelby

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Gregory Meeks
Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Michael McCaul

The Honorable Robert Menendez
Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator James E. Risch

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative James R. Comer The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John A. Barrasso

The Honorable Bennie G. Thompson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John Katko

The Honorable Gary C. Peters
Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Rob Portman

The Honorable Bernie Sanders Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Lindsey Graham

The Honorable John Yarmuth
Chairman, Committee on the Budget
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Jason T. Smith

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510