

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 13, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Madam Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the agency's "Recommended Best Practices Report for Environmental Reviews and Authorizations" (Best Practices Report). The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (FAST-41) establishes a new requirement for "each participating agency and lead agency" to submit to Congress and the Director of the Office of Management and Budget a report assessing the performance of the agency in implementing FAST-41 best practices, with the report due each year by April 15th. The enclosed Best Practice Report was developed in accordance with the fiscal year (FY) 2021 Federal Permitting Improvement Steering Council (FPISC) guidance.

The enclosed report has three sections:

- Section 1 lists each of the FPISC best practice categories, subcategories (as applicable) and corresponding NRC responses.
- Section 2 describes activities NRC undertook to improve the permitting process not otherwise described in the best practice categories.
- Section 3 provides an overview of general improvements to the review and permitting process.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me, or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to the following:

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Shalanda D. Young Director, Office of Management and Budget New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20503

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James Inhofe

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr. Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Paul Tonko Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and Climate Change Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative David B. McKinley