

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

CHAIRMAN

April 4, 2022

The Honorable Shalanda D. Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503

Dear Ms. Young:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has developed the agency's Strategic Plan for Fiscal Years (FY) 2022-2026 and made it available on the NRC Web site at https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/nuregs/staff/sr1614/v8/index.html. In addition, the new strategic planning components required by the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act of 2018 (Evidence Act) (i.e., Evidence-Building Plan, Capacity Assessment, and FY 2023 Annual Evaluation Plan) are available on the NRC Web Site at https://www.nrc.gov/about-nrc/plans-performance/evidence-building-and-evaluation.html.

The Strategic Plan for FY 2022–2026 includes the agency's mission-based safety and security goals, as well as, goals in the area of fostering organizational health and promoting stakeholder confidence. Expanding the Strategic Plan to incorporate these areas of focus, will serve as a clear roadmap that can be utilized in budget development and the agency's ongoing implementation of the Evidence Act.

Please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776, if we may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

cc: Dustin S. Brown

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Shalanda D. Young Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503 cc: Dustin S. Brown

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James Inhofe

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr. Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Paul Tonko Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and Climate Change Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative David B. McKinley The Honorable Marcy Kaptur Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Gregory Meeks Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Michael McCaul

The Honorable Robert Menendez Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James E. Risch

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative James R. Comer

The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John A. Barrasso

The Honorable Bennie Thompson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John Katko The Honorable Gary C. Peters Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Rob Portman

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510