

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

February 24, 2022

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548

Dear Mr. Dodaro:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am pleased to provide the enclosed summary of actions taken by the NRC in response to recommendations contained in various U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports that address NRC activities. The summary describes the progress made in addressing recommendations remaining open as of, or not included in, our last summary report of March 1, 2021. GAO recommendations that were addressed in previous annual reports and were indicated as closed by the NRC are not addressed in this report.

If you have any questions, please contact me or have your staff contact John Jolicoeur, Office of the Executive Director for Operations, at (301) 415-1642.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure:

Summary of NRC Actions

cc: Frank Rusco

Identical letter sent to the following recipients, with the exception of the replacement of the point of contact with the Chairman and the Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs:

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548 cc: Frank Rusco

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward J. Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air,
Climate, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and Climate Change
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative David McKinley

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator John Kennedy

The Honorable Gary C. Peters
Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Rob Portman

The Honorable Bennie G. Thompson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John Katko

The Honorable Bernie Sanders Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Lindsey Graham

The Honorable John Yarmuth Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Jason T. Smith The Honorable Patrick Leahy
Chairman, Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Richard Shelby

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Chair, Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Kay Granger

The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator John A. Barrasso

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative James R. Comer

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

Ms. Shalanda Young
Acting Director, Office of Management
and Budget
725 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20503
cc: Christine A. McDonald

The Honorable Robert Menendez
Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator James E. Risch

The Honorable Gregory Meeks Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Michael McCaul