

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

December 9, 2021

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Madam Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed "The Price-Anderson Act: 2021 Report to Congress." This submission is in accordance with Section 170p of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended. In the Energy Policy Act of 2005, Congress extended the Price-Anderson Act (PAA) through 2025 and modified certain elements of the PAA framework. Congress also required that the Commission submit to them, by December 31, 2021, a detailed report "concerning the need for continuation or modification of [the Price-Anderson Act], taking into account the condition of the nuclear industry, availability of private insurance, and the state of knowledge concerning nuclear safety at that time, among other relevant factors." The enclosed report recommends only modest changes in connection with continuation of the Price-Anderson Act because the Act provides a valuable public benefit by establishing a system for the prompt and equitable resolution of public liability claims resulting from a nuclear incident.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me, or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776.

Sincerely,

Christopher T. Hanson

Enclosure: As stated

## Identical letter sent to the following:

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kamala D. Harris President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Shelley Moore Capito

The Honorable Edward Markey
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air,
Climate, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator James Inhofe

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and Climate Change
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative David B. McKinley