



September 13, 2021 2021-022

Ms. Molly-Kate Gavello
Project Manager; NPUF Licensing Branch
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission

SUBJECT: Notification of Changes in License Level Personnel for the Texas A&M

Experiment Station NSCR (R-83) and the Texas A&M University AGN (R-23)

DOCKET: 050-000059; Texas A&M AGN-201M (AGN)

050-000128; Nuclear Science Center Reactor (NSCR)

Dear Ms. Gavello:

There have been changes to the license level personnel for each of the above referenced reactors. Dr. Katherine Banks has left her position as the Director of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) to assume her new role as President of Texas A&M University (TAMU), and therefore moves from one reactor organization (R-83) to the other (R-23) as Level 1. The interim Director of TEES following Dr. Banks's departure is Dr. John Hurtado, who assumes the Level 1 role for R-83.

Considering the effort underway to transfer the license ownership of R-23 from TAMU to TEES, and since the AGN reactor is disassembled and stored at the R-83 facility, Dr. Banks is designating Dr. John Hurtado as the acting Level 1 for the R-23 license in her place. She is also designating Dr. Sean McDeavitt, presently the Level 2 licensee for R-83, to be the acting Level 2 for R-23 as well. This aligns the Levels 1 and 2 for both reactors (R-23 and R-83) to the same leadership and is the sensible solution since the disassembled AGN is stored on the site of the NSCR.

To reduce confusion, we are presenting this information in the table below.

License Level	Reactor ID	Prior to the staff changes	After the staff changes	Designated acting Licensees
1	TAMU AGN (R-23)	Dr. Michael K. Young President, TAMU	Dr. Katherine Banks President, TAMU	Dr. John Hurtado Director (Acting), TEES
2	TAMU AGN (R-23)	Dr. Mike Nastasi Department Head, TAMU NUEN	Dr. Mike Nastasi Department Head TAMU NUEN	Dr. Sean McDeavitt Director, NESC/TEES
1	TEES-NSCR (R-83)	Dr. Katherine Banks Director, TEES	Dr. John Hurtado Director (Acting), TEES	NA
2	TEES-NSCR (R-83)	Dr. Sean McDeavitt Director, NESC	No change	NA

Should you have any questions, or require further information, please don't hesitate to contact myself, mcdeavitt@tamu.edu, or Jere Jenkins, jere@tamu.edu.

Sincerely,

Sean M. McDeavitt, PhD Director

CC: Katherine M. Banks

President, Texas A&M University

John Hurtado

Director, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station

Cody Folden

Chairman, Reactor Safety Board

Michael Nastasi

Department Head, Texas A&M Nuclear Engineering

Patrick Boyle

Project Manager, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission