Docket No. 50-373 Docket No. 50-374

Mr. Dennis L. Farrar Director of Nuclear Licensing Commonwealth Edison Company Post Office Box 767 Chicago, IL 60690

Dear Mr. Farrar:

As indicated in Inspection Reports No. 50-373/85008; 50-374/85008, submitted to you by our letter dated April 9, 1985, the issue of the adequacy of the compensatory measures for the failure of the security computers relative to the vital areas was being forwarded to Headquarters for resolution.

In reviewing this issue with the Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, it has been determined that to resolve the outstanding issue, the security plan for the LaSalle Station should be revised to provide for more appropriate compensatory measures for computer outages. NUREG 1045, "Guidance on the Application of Compensatory Measures for Power Reactor Licensees," dated January 1984, provides guidance for these measures.

This issue was discussed with Mr. T. Borzum, Security Administrator, LaSalle Station on August 7, 1985.

Should you or your staff have any further questions concerning this matter, please contact D. A. Kers at (312) 790-5643.

Sincerely,

8508230133 850814 PDR ADOCK 05000373

cc: See Attached List

bcc: NMSS/SGPR NRR/SSPB

SG Case File:

SG Inspector File: Pirtle

SG Reviewer File NRR Docket File

W. L. Axelson, Chief Nuclear Materials Safety

and Safeguards

RIII Kers/jl Philese

RIII

RIII Arissotimos Axelson
8/14/67

LASALLE

Mr. Dennis L. Farrar Director of Nuclear Licensing Commonwealth Edison Company P. O. Box 767 Chicago, Illinois 60690

cc: Philip P. Steptoe, Esquire Suite 4200 One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

> Assistant Attorney General 188 West Randolph Street Suite 2315 Chicago, Illinois 60601

Resident Inspector/LaSalle, NPS U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Rural Route No. 1 Post Office Box 224 Marseilles, Illinois 61341

Chairman La Salle County Board of Supervisors La Salle County Courthouse Ottawa, Illinois 61350

Attorney General 500 South 2nd Street Springfield, Illinois 62701

Chairman
Illinois Commerce Commission
Leland Building
527 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, Illinois 62706

Mr. Gary N. Wright, Manager Nuclear Facility Safety Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive, 5th Floor Springfield, Illinois 62704

Regional Administrator, Region III U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 799 Rossevelt Road Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137 John W. McCaffrey Chief, Public Utilities Division 160 North La Salle Street, Room 900 Chicago, Illinois 60601