

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

May 21, 2020

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr. Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the Commission, I am providing the April 2020 monthly status of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) activities and use of unobligated carryover funds appropriated from the Nuclear Waste Fund. The enclosure provides the Nuclear Waste Fund expenditures in April 2020 to address the remand by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in the case *In re Aiken County* regarding the licensing process for the U.S. Department of Energy's Yucca Mountain license application. While there are no significant actions to report for the month, the NRC provided limited program planning and support activities that resulted in nominal expenditures.

Please feel free to contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776, if you have questions or need more information.

Sincerely,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Representative Greg Walden

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr. Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Greg Walden

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and Climate Change
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative John Shimkus

The Honorable John A. Barrasso
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Mike Braun
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Nita Lowey Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Kay Granger

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein