

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

March 24, 2020

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548

Dear Mr. Dodaro:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am pleased to provide the enclosed summary of actions taken by the NRC in response to recommendations contained in various U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports that address NRC activities. The summary describes the progress made in addressing recommendations remaining open as of, or not included in, our last summary report of March 7, 2019. GAO recommendations that were addressed in previous annual reports and were indicated as closed by the NRC are not addressed in this report.

If you have any questions, please contact me or have your staff contact John Jolicoeur, Office of the Executive Director for Operations, at (301) 415-1642.

Sincerely,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: Summary of NRC Actions

cc: Frank Rusco

Identical letter sent to the following recipients, with the exception of the replacement of the point of contact with the Chairman and the Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs:

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548

cc: Frank Rusco

The Honorable John A. Barrasso Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Mike Braun
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Greg Walden

The Honorable Paul Tonko
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and Climate Change
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative John Shimkus

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Mike Simpson

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Ron Johnson
Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Gary C. Peters

The Honorable Bennie G. Thompson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Mike Rogers

The Honorable Mike Enzi
Chairman, Committee on the Budget
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Bernie Sanders

The Honorable John Yarmuth Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Steve Womack The Honorable Richard Shelby Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Patrick Leahy

The Honorable Nita Lowey Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Kay Granger

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Joe Manchin

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney Chairwoman, Committee on Oversight and Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Jim Jordan

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Michael Pence President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mick Mulvaney Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503 cc: Christine A. McDonald

The Honorable James E. Risch Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Robert Menendez

The Honorable Eliot Engel Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Michael McCaul