

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

October 17, 2018

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Section 651(d) of the Energy Policy Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-58), I am providing the enclosed report documenting the activities, actions, and accomplishments of the Radiation Source Protection and Security Task Force (Task Force) over the past 4 years. The Task Force is chaired by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and includes members from 14 Federal agencies and the Organization of Agreement States (OAS), which represents all State governments that regulate the use of radiation sources.

The Energy Policy Act charged the Task Force with: 1) evaluating and providing recommendations relating to the security of radiation sources in the United States from potential terrorist threats, including acts of sabotage, theft, or use in a radiological dispersal device, and 2) providing, within 1 year of enactment, and not less than every 4 years thereafter, reports containing its recommendations, including appropriate regulatory and legislative changes, to the President and Congress. This report marks the fourth report of the Task Force, with previous reports submitted to the President and Congress in 2006, 2010, and 2014.

Over the last 4 years, the Task Force has routinely met to discuss matters pertaining to the security of radioactive sources. The results of those discussions, including the progress on various initiatives, associated accomplishments, and remaining actions, are documented in the enclosed report. During this report cycle, the Task Force concluded that there are no significant gaps in the area of radioactive source protection and security that are not already being addressed through continued attention by the appropriate Task Force agencies. Over the past 4 years due to its significant effort and collaboration among the member agencies and OAS, the Task Force has been able to close four recommendations from the previous Task Force reports. Actions for seven of the remaining recommendations are ongoing as of the issuance of the 2018 report. The Task Force will continue to advance its efforts to complete actions associated with the remaining seven recommendations, and will take the necessary steps to mitigate any emerging gaps in source protection and security that may arise in the years to come.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. I may be reached by phone at (301) 415-1750.

Respectfully,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure:

The 2018 Radiation Source Protection and Security Task Force Report

Identical letters sent to:

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

The Honorable Michael Pence President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable John Barrasso
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Greg Walden
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Ron Johnson
Chairman, Committee on Homeland
Security and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Claire McCaskill

The Honorable Michael McCaul Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bennie G. Thompson

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Natural Resources
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Maria Cantwell

The Honorable Trey Gowdy
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Elijah Cummings

The Honorable Mike Simpson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein