

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

June 8, 2018

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed "Report to Congress on Abnormal Occurrences: Fiscal Year (FY) 2017." This submission is in accordance with Section 208 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended (Public Law 93-438), and the Federal Reports Elimination and Sunset Act of 1995 (Public Law 104-66), which require the NRC to identify and report abnormal occurrences (AOs) to Congress annually. An AO is an unscheduled incident or event that the Commission determines to be significant from the standpoint of public health or safety.

The NRC initially issued the AO criteria in a policy statement that the Commission published in 1977 followed by several revisions in subsequent years. The NRC published the most recent revision to the AO criteria in the *Federal Register* (FR) on October 2, 2017 (82 FR 45907); the revised criteria became effective on that date. This revision establishes the criteria that will be used to define AOs for the FY 2018 report and forward. Since the October 2017 criteria were not in effect during FY 2017, this report uses the revision to the AO criteria published in the FR on October 12, 2006 (71 FR 60198), to define AOs for the enclosed report.

The enclosed AO report for FY 2017 describes five events involving NRC licensees and six events involving Agreement State licensees. All 11 AOs were medical events, as defined in NRC regulations.

Sincerely,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Michael Pence President of the United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Barrasso Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Greg Walden Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr. The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein