

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

February 12, 2018

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Madam Chairwoman:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) fiscal year (FY) 2019 Congressional Budget Justification. This Congressional Budget Justification reflects the NRC's continued commitment to protecting public health and safety and ensuring the long-term safety and security of nuclear power facilities and nuclear materials. The NRC's FY 2019 budget request provides the resources necessary to accomplish mission-critical activities related to safety and security in the Nuclear Reactor Safety Program and the Nuclear Material and Waste Safety Program. In developing the budget, the Commission ensured funding availability for high-priority activities.

The NRC's FY 2019 budget request, including for the Office of the Inspector General, is \$970.7 million, including 3,247 full-time equivalents (FTEs). This represents an overall increase of \$59.8 million, or 6.6 percent, yet includes 149 fewer FTE, as compared to the FY 2018 annualized continuing resolution. The FY 2019 request includes \$47.7 million to support activities for the proposed Yucca Mountain deep geologic repository for spent nuclear fuel and other high-level radioactive waste. The FY 2019 request also includes \$10.3 million for further development of the regulatory infrastructure for advanced nuclear reactor technologies.

The NRC stands ready to support your review of this budget request through briefings and responses to questions. Please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776, if we may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public
Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable John A. Barrasso
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Greg Walden
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Fred Upton
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Ron Johnson
Chairman, Committee on Homeland
Security and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Claire McCaskill

The Honorable Michael McCaul Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bennie Thompson

The Honorable Mike Enzi Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Bernie Sanders

The Honorable Steve Womack Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John Yarmuth

The Honorable Thad Cochran Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Patrick J. Leahy The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Edward R. Royce Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Eliot Engel

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Maria Cantwell

The Honorable Trey Gowdy
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Elijah Cummings

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mick Mulvaney Director, Office of Management and Budget Washington, DC 20503 cc: Benton Arnett

The Honorable Michael Pence President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Bob Corker Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Benjamin L. Cardin