

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

February 26, 2018

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Madam Chairwoman:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am pleased to provide

the enclosed summary of actions taken by the NRC in response to recommendations

contained in various U.S. Government Accountability Office reports that address NRC activities.

The summary describes the progress made in addressing recommendations remaining open

as of, or not included in, our last summary report of March 3, 2017.

Sincerely

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: Summary of NRC Actions

cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

## Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Trey Gowdy Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Elijah Cummings The Honorable John Barrasso Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Greg Walden Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Thad Cochran Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Patrick Leahy

The Honorable Ron Johnson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Claire McCaskill

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States Washington, DC 20548 cc: Frank Rusco

The Honorable Mick Mulvaney Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17<sup>th</sup> Street, NW Washington, DC 20503 cc: Christine McDonald