

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

February 12, 2018

The Honorable Trey Gowdy
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am responding to your December 8, 2017, letter requesting a list of guidance documents issued by the NRC since January 1, 2008. The NRC has a consolidated website¹ where it posts links to the wide variety of documents issued by the agency, including the majority of its guidance documents. The NRC issues guidance in various forms, including as Regulatory Guides and NUREG Series publications. Please find enclosed the list of guidance documents that you requested.

As an independent regulatory agency, portions of the sixth criterion listed in your letter do not apply to the NRC. However, we have identified whether the listed guidance documents were considered "major rules" under the Congressional Review Act (CRA). We have also indicated when the NRC requested a major/non-major rule determination under the CRA and/or review under the Paperwork Reduction Act from the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs within the Office of Management and Budget for the listed guidance documents. The NRC has also provided accession (or "ML") numbers for documents that are publicly available in the NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System.

I hope this information meets the Committee's needs. If you need anything additional, please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Representative Elijah E. Cummings

¹ https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/.

Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable Trey Gowdy
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Elijah E. Cummings

The Honorable Mark Meadows
Chairman, Subcommittee on Government Operations
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Gerald E. Connolly

The Honorable Jim Jordan
Chairman, Subcommittee on Healthcare,
Benefits, and Administrative Rules
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Raja Kirshnamoorthi

The Honorable Gary J. Palmer
Chairman, Subcommittee on Intergovernmental Affairs
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Val Butler Demings

The Honorable Blake Farenthold
Chairman, Subcommittee on the Interior,
Energy, and Environment
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Stacey E. Plaskett