

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

January 31, 2018

The Honorable James E. Risch Chairman, Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Comission (NRC), as required by the Small Business Regulatory Enforcement Fairness Act of 1996, I am reporting on the status of the agency provision of "Compliance Guides" to small entities for rules that affect them.

The agency directs much of its regulatory activity to NRC licensees that are not considered small entities under the size standards in § 2.810 of Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, "NRC size standards." However, there are a few rules that do have a significant impact on a substantial number of small entities. A complete list of those rulemakings and their corresponding guidance documents is available on the agency's Web site at <a href="https://www.nrc.gov/about-nrc/regulatory/rulemaking/flexibility-act/small-entities.html">https://www.nrc.gov/about-nrc/regulatory/rulemaking/flexibility-act/small-entities.html</a>.

Since our last report on this matter dated May 19, 2017, only one new rule has been determined to have a significant impact on a substantial number of small entities. This final rule, "Revision of Fee Schedules; Fee Recovery for Fiscal Year 2017," amended the licensing, inspection, and annual fees that the NRC charges to its applicants and licensees (82 FR 30682; June 30, 2017).

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely

Kristine L. Svinicki

cc: Senator Jeanne Shaheen

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable James E. Risch Chairman, Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Jeanne Shaheen

The Honorable Steve Chabot Chairman, Committee on Small Business United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nydia M. Velázquez

The Honorable John Barrasso Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Greg Walden Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko