

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

May 23, 2017

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Madam Chairwoman:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) fiscal year (FY) 2018 Congressional Budget Justification. This Congressional Budget Justification reflects the NRC's continued commitment to protect public health and safety, and ensure the long-term safety and security of nuclear power facilities and nuclear materials while achieving resource savings and improving the agency's efficiency and effectiveness.

The NRC's FY 2018 budget request, including for the Office of the Inspector General, is \$952 million, including 3,284 FTE. This represents a decrease of \$48.3 million, including 311 fewer FTE as compared to the FY 2017 Annualized Continuing Resolution (CR) budget, reflecting the agency's continued progress in improving effectiveness, efficiency, and agility under Project Aim. The request includes \$30 million, to support activities for the proposed Yucca Mountain deep geologic repository for spent nuclear fuel and other high-level radioactive waste.

The FY 2018 Congressional Budget Justification also reflects the NRC's efforts to improve the presentation of the budget request and to simplify comparisons between budget years. This document also demonstrates the agency's commitment to fee transparency. The chapter for each business line includes supplemental content such as workload tables and schedules to better align the budget and the resulting impact on fees. Content has also been expanded to include a synopsis of the agency's overall estimated fee recovery calculations to increase awareness of the budget's impact on fee recovery.

Despite a declining budget and staffing levels, the FY 2018 budget fully supports the safety and security of the NRC programs, and the agency's primary focus continues to be protecting public health and ensuring the long-term safety and security of nuclear materials and facilities.

The NRC stands ready to support your review of this budget request through briefings and responses to questions. Please contact me or Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776, if we may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Kristine L. Svinicki

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable Shelley Moore Captio
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public
Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable John A. Barrasso
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Greg Walden
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Ron Johnson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Claire McCaskill

The Honorable Michael McCaul
Chairman, Committee on Homeland
Security
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Bennie Thompson

The Honorable Mike Enzi Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Bernie Sanders

The Honorable Diane Black Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John Yarmuth

The Honorable Thad Cochran Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Patrick J. Leahy

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Edward R. Royce Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Eliot Engel

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Natural Resources
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Maria Cantwell

The Honorable Jason Chaffetz
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Elijah Cummings

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mick Mulvaney
Director, Office of Management and Budget
Washington, DC 20503
cc: Benton Arnett

The Honorable Michael Pence President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Bob Corker Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Benjamin L. Cardin