

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

November 15, 2016

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

I enclose the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Fiscal Year 2016 Performance and Accountability Report. This report was prepared in accordance with the Reports Consolidation Act of 2000 and the Government Performance and Results Act Modernization Act of 2010.

I have assessed the completeness and reliability of the program and financial data contained in the NRC's Fiscal Year 2016 Performance and Accountability Report. Based on evaluation criteria issued by the Office of Management and Budget, I conclude that the data is complete and reliable.

The NRC places a high priority on sound management and public accountability. The Commission looks forward to continuing to work with you to deliver the best possible results for the Government and the American people.

Respectfully,

/**RA**/

Stephen G. Burns

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The President The White House Washington, DC 20500

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Orrin G. Hatch President Pro Tempore United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Paul D. Ryan Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable James M. Inhofe Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Barbara Boxer

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Pete Olson Vice Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Ron Johnson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Maria Cantwell

The Honorable Mike McCaul Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bennie G. Thompson