The Honorable Peter Welch United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Congressman Welch:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am responding to the September 16, 2016, letter from you and your colleagues providing comments on the NRC's rulemaking activity entitled *Regulatory Improvements for Power Reactors Transitioning to Decommissioning*. Your comments have been placed on the docket and will be considered as we move forward with this rulemaking.

As you acknowledged in your letter, the NRC published an advance notice of proposed rulemaking in November 2015 to obtain early stakeholder input on this rulemaking. The NRC staff is using the comments received from the public to inform the development of the regulatory basis, which is the next step in the rulemaking process. All of the issues you raised in your letter are among those we are evaluating. We expect to publish a draft version of the regulatory basis for public comment in November 2016.

Thank you for your interest in the work of the NRC. If I can be of any additional assistance, please contact me or Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Stephen G. Burns

<u>Identical letters sent to:</u>

The Honorable Peter Welch United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Patrick Leahy United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable William R. Keating United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Bernard Sanders United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Michael E. Capuano United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Edward J. Markey United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Niki Tsongas United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard E. Neal United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Seth Moulton United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Katherine Clark United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Joseph P. Kennedy, III United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Stephen F. Lynch United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable James P. McGovern United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515