February 24, 2016

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Chairman:

On behalf of the Commission, I am transmitting the January 2016 monthly status report on the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) activities and use of unobligated carryover funds appropriated from the Nuclear Waste Fund. This report describes NRC activities in January 2016 to address the remand by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in the case *In re Aiken County* regarding the licensing process for the U.S. Department of Energy's Yucca Mountain license application.

Please feel free to contact me or Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776, if you have questions or need more information.

Sincerely,

## /**RA**/

Stephen G. Burns

Enclosure: As stated

cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable James Inhofe Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Barbara Boxer

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein