The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am forwarding the enclosed "Report to Congress on Abnormal Occurrences: Fiscal Year (FY) 2014." This submission is in accordance with Section 208 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended (Public Law 93-438), and the Federal Reports Elimination and Sunset Act of 1995 (Public Law 104-66), which require the NRC to identify and report Abnormal Occurrences (AOs) to Congress annually. An AO is an unscheduled incident or event that the Commission determines to be significant from the standpoint of public health or safety.

The NRC initially issued the AO criteria in a policy statement that the Commission published in the *Federal Register* on February 24, 1977 (42 FR 10950), followed by several revisions in subsequent years. The most recent revision to the AO criteria, published in the *Federal Register* on October 12, 2006 (71 FR 60198), established the criteria that the NRC uses to define AOs for the purpose of the enclosed report, as set forth in Appendix A to that report.

The enclosed AO report for FY 2014 describes one event at an NRC-licensed facility and twelve events at facilities licensed by Agreement States. One Agreement State event involved radiation exposure to an embryo or fetus and the NRC event and other eleven Agreement State events were medical events, as defined in the NRC's regulations.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Stephen G. Burns

Enclosure: As stated

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable James M. Inhofe Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Barbara Boxer

The Honorable Shelly Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein