March 2, 2015

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Madam Chairwoman:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am pleased to provide a summary of actions taken by the NRC in response to recommendations contained in various United States Government Accountability Office reports that address NRC activities.

The enclosed summary describes the progress made in addressing recommendations remaining open as of, or not included in, our last summary report of March 12, 2014.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Stephen G. Burns

Enclosure: Summary of NRC Actions

cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

Identical letters sent to:

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
Cc: Senator Thomas Carper

The Honorable Ed Whitfield
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Power
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
and the Economy
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko

The Honorable Mike Simpson
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and
Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Marcy Kaptur

The Honorable Lamar Alexander
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Jason Chaffetz
Chairman, Committee on Oversight
and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Elijah Cummings

The Honorable James M. Inhofe Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Barbara Boxer

The Honorable Fred Upton
Chairman, Committee on Energy
and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Frank Pallone

The Honorable Harold Rogers Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Nita Lowey

The Honorable Thad Cochran Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Barbara Mikulski

The Honorable Ron Johnson Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States U.S. Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, DC 20548 cc: Frank Rusco

The Honorable Tony Scott
Director, Office of Management and Budget
725 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20503
cc: Christine McDonald