# UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

### NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

### NORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANY

Docket No. 72-10-ISFSI

ASLBP No. 12-922-01-ISFSI-MLR-BD01

# ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission, <u>see</u> 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (Dec. 29,1972), and the Commission's regulations, <u>see</u> 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.105, 2.300, 2.313, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board (Board) is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

NORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANY (Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation)

This proceeding involves an application by Northern States Power Company (NSPC) dated October 20, 2011, as supplemented February 29, 2012, for the renewal of its Special Nuclear Material License for forty years at the Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation located in Red Wing, Minnesota. In response to a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing published on June 25, 2012 (77 Fed. Reg. 37,937), the Prairie Island Indian Community (PIIC) filed a request for hearing on August 24, 2012.

On September 13, 2012, NSPC and the NRC Staff filed motions to extend filing deadlines. See Joint Motion to Extend Time for Responses and Reply to Responses to [PIIC's] Petition to Intervene (Sept. 13, 2012); NRC Staff Unopposed Motion for Extension of Time to Respond to [PIIC's] Petition to Intervene (Sept. 13, 2012). On the same day, the Secretary of the Commission referred PIIC's hearing request and supporting documents to me for

appropriate action in accordance with 10 C.F.R. § 2.346(i). <u>See</u> Memorandum from Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary of the Commission to E. Roy Hawkens, Chief Administrative Judge, Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel (Sept. 13, 2012).

The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

Michael M. Gibson, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. Gary S. Arnold Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. Robert B. Matthews Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed in accordance with the NRC E-filing rule, which the NRC promulgated in August 2007 (72 Fed. Reg. 49,139).

/RA/

E. Roy Hawkens Chief Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Issued at Rockville, Maryland, this 17th day of September 2012.

# UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of	)
Northern States Power Company	) Docket No. 72-10-ISFSI-2
(Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant, Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation)	) ) ) )

# **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing **ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD** have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange or by electronic mail as indicated by an asterisk\*.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Mail Stop T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Michael M. Gibson, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: michael.gibson@nrc.gov

Dr. Gary S. Arnold Administrative Judge E-mail: gary.arnold@nrc.gov

Dr. Robert B. Matthews Administrative Judge E-mail:

James Maltese, Law Clerk
Email: <a href="mailto:james.maltese@nrc.gov">james.maltese@nrc.gov</a>

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication Mail Stop O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001

OCAA Mail Center: ocaamail@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Office of the Secretary of the Commission
Mail Stop O-16C1
Washington, DC 20555-0001
Hearing Docket: hearingdocket@nrc.gov

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop O-15D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Catherine Scott, Esq.
Mauri T. Lemoncelli, Esq.
Molly Barkman-Marsh, Esq.
Christopher C. Hair, Esq.
E-mail:
catherine.scott@nrc.gov
mauri.lemoncelli@nrc.gov
molly.barkmanmarsh@nrc.gov
christopher.hair@nrc.gov

OGC Mail Center: <a href="mailto:OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov">OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov</a>

Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant, Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation, Docket No. 72-10-ISFSI

## **ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD**

Counsel for Prairie Island Indian Community 5636 Sturgeon Lake Road Welch, MN 55089 Phillip R. Mahowald, Esq. E-mail:

pmahowald@piic.org

Counsel for Northern States Power Company Xcel Energy, Inc.
414 Nicollet Mall, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor
Minneapolis, MN 55401
Peter M. Glass, Esq.\*
E-mail:
peter.m.glass@xcelenergy.com

Counsel for Prairie Island Indian Community Jacobson, Buffalo, Magnuson, Anderson & Hogen, P.C. 335 Atrium Office Building 1295 Bandana Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55108 Joseph F. Halloran, Esq. Diana Kinney, Legal Assistant E-mail: dkinney@jacobsonbuffalo.com

Counsel for Northern States Power Company Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP 2300 N. Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20037-1128 Jay Silberg, Esq. Kimberly Harshaw, Esq. Kimberly Harshaw, Esq. Maria Webb, Paralegal E-mail: jay.silberg@pillsburylaw.com kimberly.harshaw@pillsburylaw.com maria.webb@pillsbury.law.com

Original signed by R. Giitter
Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 17<sup>th</sup> day of September 2012