### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

# ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Before Administrative Judges:

Michael M. Gibson, Chairman Dr. Gary S. Arnold Dr. Randall J. Charbeneau

In the Matter of

NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA LLC

(South Texas Project Units 3 and 4)

Docket No. 52-12-COL and 52-13-COL

ASLBP No. 09-885-08-COL-BD01

January 17, 2012

# <u>ORDER</u>

(Granting Motion for Leave to Exceed Page Limit)

On December 30, 2011, Intervenors filed a motion for summary disposition of the

admitted Contention FC-1.<sup>1</sup> In turn Applicant has filed a motion for leave to exceed the 15-page

limit on answers imposed by our Initial Scheduling Order (ISO). According to Applicant, its

Answer to Intervenors' Motion will run about 35 pages—the additional requested pages

necessary to clearly and fully address this "fact-intensive" issue.<sup>2</sup>

Applicant's motion is granted.

It is so ORDERED.

# FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD /**RA**/

Michael M. Gibson, Chairman ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland January 17, 2012

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Intervenors' Motion for Summary Disposition of Intervenors' Contention FC-1 (Dec. 30, 2011).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> NINA's Motion for Leave to Exceed Page Limit (Jan. 12, 2012) at 1-2 (citing ISO (Oct. 20, 2009) sec. II.F.1.).

### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

)

In the Matter of

NUCLEAR INNOVATION NORTH AMERICA LLC (NINA)

(South Texas Project Units 3 and 4)

Docket Nos. 52-012-COL and 52-013-COL

# CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing **ORDER (Granting Motion for Leave to Exceed Page Limit)** have been served upon the following persons by the Electronic Information Exchange.

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Michael M. Gibson, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>michael.gibson@nrc.gov</u>

Gary S. Arnold Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>gary.arnold@nrc.gov</u>

Randall J. Charbeneau Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>Randall.Charbeneau@nrc.gov</u>

Jonathan C. Esser, Law Clerk E-mail: jonathan.esser@nrc.gov Office of the General Counsel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop - O-15 D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Marian Zobler, Esq. Sara Kirkwood, Esq. Maxwell Smith, Esq. Michael Spencer, Esg. Jody Martin, Esq. Anthony C. Wilson, Esq. Andrea Silvia, Esq. Anita Ghosh, Esq. Joseph Gilman, Paralegal E-mail: marian.zobler@nrc.gov sara.kirkwood@nrc.gov joseph.gilman@nrc.gov maxwell.smith@nrc.gov michael.spencer@nrc.gov jody.martin@nrc.gov anthony.wilson@nrc.gov andrea.silvia@nrc.gov anita.ghosh@nrc.gov

OGC Mail Center : OGCMailCenter@nrc.gov

#### Docket Nos. 52-012-COL and 52-013-COL ORDER (Granting Motion for Leave to Exceed Page Limit)

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: <u>ocaamail@nrc.gov</u>

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP 1111 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20004 Counsel for the Applicant Stephen J. Burdick, Esg. Steven P. Frantz, Esq. Alvin Gutterman, Esg. John E. Matthews, Esq. Kathryn M. Sutton, Esg. Charles B. Moldenhauer, Esg. Mary Freeze, Assistant E-mail: sburdick@morganlewis.com sfrantz@morganlewis.com: agutterman@morganlewis.com jmatthews@morganlewis.com ksutton@morganlewis.com cmoldenhauer@morganlewis.com mfreeze@morganlewis.com

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Robert V. Eye, Esq. Brett A. Jarmer, Esq. April Middleton, Assistant Kauffman & Eye 112 SW 6<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 202 Topeka, Kansas 66603 E-mail: <u>bob@kauffmaneye.com</u> E-mail: <u>brett@kauffmaneye.com</u> E-mail: <u>april@kauffmaneye.com</u> Office of the Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop: O-16C1 Washington, DC 20555-0001 Hearing Docket E-mail: <u>hearingdocket@nrc.gov</u>

Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Diane Curran Harmon, Curran, Spielberg, & Eisenberg, LLP 1726 M Street N.W., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 E-mail: dcurran@harmoncurran.com

Sustainable Energy & Economic Development (SEED) Coalition Eliza Brown, Clean Energy Advocate 1303 San Antonio #100 Austin, Texas 78701 E-mail: <u>eliza.seedcoalition@gmail.com</u>

# Docket Nos. 52-012-COL and 52-013-COL ORDER (Granting Motion for Leave to Exceed Page Limit)

Southwest Workers' Union Lanny Alan Sinkin, Esq. 1801 Westlake Drive #212 Austin, Texas 78746 E-mail: <u>lanny.sinkin@gmail.com</u>

> [Original signed by Nancy Greathead] Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 17<sup>th</sup> day of January 2012